Focus and Scope

An international scientific reviewed online periodical, published in Russia 4 times in a year. The articles are published in English and Russian languages after the obligatory review.  The journal’s subject area includes problems of structure and functioning of ground and water ecosystems; ecosystem dynamics; estimation of biodiversity and its importance in structural and functional organization of ecosystems; historical ecology; ecology and environmental protection, ecosystem nature management, modelling in ecology.

Characteristic features of the journal: free online access to articles, free and quick publication for authors, possibility to publish articles of various kinds – reviews, original research articles, theoretical works, methodology, discussions, brief reports, information about  past conferences, comments, study materials, research reports on expeditions and field trips, descriptions and analysis of experiments in the renewal processes of biodiversity, conclusions on research results in nature conservation areas.  It is the journal’s great advantage that it can publish articles of great sizes, include a large number of color illustrations and links to various media files. Priority is given to reviews, theoretical works, discussions, original cross-disciplinary articles in ecology of ecosystems, historical ecology, ecology of environmental and nature management.

The editorial staff is composed of experts on synecology in ground and water ecosystems, autecology and demecology of plants and animals, botany, zoology, pedology, mycology, hydrobiology, biogeography, phytocenology, landscape ecology, historical ecology, paleoecology, mathematical modelling, environmental management and conservation.

Many editorial staff members have conducted longtime complex studies both in the best preserved fragments of the ecosystem layer, and in human-transformed ecosystems in different regions.

Reasons behind the Journal Establishment

Current science and politics declare great interest in natural ecosystems, in the realization of their necessary functions for human society. Among these functions are optimization of climate and hydrological regime, support of land fertility, maximal biodiversity, high producing capacity and others. At the same time, the majority of modern research is focused on some specific issues of autecology, demecology, or synecology.

The editorial staff sees the aim of the journal in presenting works from different field of ecology that will help to change the existing principles of interaction between man and nature. In our view, the establishment of the journal, guiding the scientific community to integrated studies of ecosystem organization of life on the Earth, is of paramount importance, both for the integrated development of the synecology, and for successful solution of practical problems of nature protection and sustainable management of natural resources.

Journal  Aim and tasks

The aim of the journal is to develop an open platform for discussion on key issues of interaction between man and nature, making decisions on the basis of synthesis of the theoretical concepts and the achievements of the synecology and the historical ecology, using the existing experience in protection of nature and modern environmental management.

The journal will contribute to:

1) the dissemination of modern ideas, approaches and techniques of synecology and historical ecology through reviews, discussions, and publication of the latest techniques and the results of their application;

2) the development of complex evaluation of the current state, directions and pace of the development of ecosystems and their complexes on the basis of synthesis of research results in synecology, historical ecology, traditional and contemporary environmental management and the experience of nature reserves creation;

3) the use of modern methods of synecology and historical ecology to preserve and/or restore original features of nature conservation areas and to organize the natural resource management, oriented towards the full realization of the ecosystem functions of the biosphere;

4) the implementation of modern concepts of synecology and historical ecology in secondary and higher education so as to develop responsible attitude among the young towards the problems of conservation and restoration of the natural features of the Earth’s biosphere as a prerequisite of human sustainable existence.

Open Access Policy

This is an open access journal which means that all content is freely available without charge to the user or his/her institution. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This is in accordance with the BOAI definition of open access, recommended by DOAJ.

The publication conducts the policy of maximal availability of the published materials for researchers. All the articles of archival and current journal issues are under free access on the journal’s web site, as well as on the portals of Russian and foreign e-libraries and online databases.

Users can use, reuse and build upon the material published in the journal but only for non-commercial purposes.

Manuscript Processing Charges

The publisher is bearing all expenses for journal production and publication. Publication of papers is free of charge for the authors. Peer review is not paid.

A policy of screening for plagiarism

All the articles provided for review have their original text tested for the level of uniqueness determined by using the appropriate software that shows the uniqueness of the article, sources used and coincidence of the text by means of Antiplagiat systems.

Disclosure and Conflict of Interest

Unpublished materials disclosed in a submitted manuscript must not be used in a reviewer’s own research without the express written consent of the author. Privileged information or ideas obtained through peer review must be kept confidential and not used for personal advantage.

Reviewers should not consider manuscripts in which they have conflicts of interest resulting from competitive, collaborative, or other relationships or connections with any of the authors, companies, or institutions connected to the papers.

Privacy Statement

Specified when registering the names and addresses will be used solely for technical purposes of a contact with the Author or reviewers (editors) when preparing the article for publication. Private data will not be shared with other individuals and organizations.

Copyright Notice

Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms:

1. Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License CC-BY 4.0. that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work’s authorship and initial publication in this journal.

2. Authors are able to enter into separate, additional contractual arrangements for the non-exclusive distribution of the journal’s published version of the work (e.g., post it to an institutional repository or publish it in a book), with an acknowledgement of its initial publication in this journal.

3. Authors are permitted and encouraged to post their work online (e.g., in institutional repositories or on their website) prior to and during the submission process, as it can lead to productive exchanges, as well as earlier and greater citation of published work.

Формат журнала
Международный научный периодический электронный журнал, издающийся в России. Публикует статьи на русском или английском языках. Все статьи проходят обязательное рецензирование. Журнал выходит 4 раза в год. Тематика журнала включает вопросы структуры и функционирования наземных и водных экосистем; динамики экосистем; оценки биоразнообразия и его роли в структурно-функциональной организации экосистем; исторической экологии; экологии и охраны природы, экосистемного природопользования, моделирования в экологии.
Особенности журнала: свободный доступ к статьям в сети Интернет, бесплатная публикация для авторов, быстрая публикация, возможность публикации статей разного типа (обзоры, оригинальные исследовательские статьи, теоретические, методологические работы, дискуссии, краткие сообщения, рецензии, информация о прошедших конференциях, комментарии, методические материалы, научные отчеты об экспедициях, описание и анализ экспериментов по восстановлению биоразнообразия, обобщения по результатам исследований в особо охраняемых природных территориях).
Преимуществом является возможность публикации материалов значительного объема, возможность включить в статью большое число цветных иллюстраций, ссылки на активные мультимедиа-продукты. Приоритет при опубликовании отдается  обзорам, теоретическим работам, дискуссиям, оригинальным междисциплинарным статьям в области экологии экосистем, исторической экологии, экологии охраны природы и природопользования.

В состав редколлегии входят специалисты по синэкологии наземных и водных экосистем, аут- и демэкологии растений и животных, ботанике, зоологии, почвоведению, микологии, гидробиологии, биогеографии, фитоценологии, ландшафтной экологии, исторической экологии, палеоэкологии, математическому моделированию, природопользованию и охране природы.

Многие члены редколлегии на протяжении длительного времени проводили комплексные исследования как в наиболее хорошо сохранившихся фрагментах экосистемного покрова, так и в антропогенно преобразованных экосистемах в разных регионах.

Причины создания журнала
В настоящее время в мировой науке и в политике декларируется глубокий интерес к природным экосистемам с точки зрения реализации ими функций, жизненно необходимых для поддержания человеческого общества. Среди них оптимизация климата и гидрологического режима, поддержание почвенного плодородия, максимально возможного биоразнообразия, высокой продуктивности и других функций. Вместе с тем, подавляющее число современных исследований замкнуто на отдельные конкретные вопросы аут-, дем — и синэкологии.
Задачу настоящего журнала мы видим в представлении работ из разных областей экологии, которые будут способствовать изменению существующих принципов взаимодействия человека и природы. На наш взгляд, создание журнала, ориентирующего научное сообщество на комплексные исследования экосистемной организации жизни на Земле, должно иметь огромное значение,  как для успешного комплексного развития синэкологии, так и для решения актуальных практических задач охраны природы и устойчивого природопользования.

Цель и задачи журнала
Создание открытой платформы для обсуждения принципиальных проблем взаимодействий человека и природы, принятия решений на основе синтеза теоретических концепций и достижений синэкологии и исторической экологии, опыта охраны природы и современного природопользования.

Журнал призван способствовать:

1) распространению современных представлений, подходов и методов синэкологии и исторической экологии, публикуя обзоры, организуя дискуссии, информируя об использовании новейших методов и о результатах  их применения;

2) развитию комплексных оценок современного состояния, направлений и темпов развития экосистем и их комплексов на основе синтеза представлений синэкологии, исторической экологии, опыта традиционного и современного природопользования и опыта заповедания;

3) использованию современных методов синэкологии и исторической экологии для сохранения и/или восстановления природных особенностей особо охраняемых природных территорий и  организации природопользования, ориентированного на максимально возможную реализацию экосистемных функций Биосферы.

4) внедрению в среднее и высшее образование современных концепций синэкологии и исторической экологии для формирования квалифицированного и ответственного отношения молодого поколения к проблемам сохранения и восстановления природных особенностей  Биосферы Земли как условия устойчивого существования Цивилизации.

Политика открытого доступа

Журнал находится в открытом доступе. Это означает, что все содержимое доступно бесплатно для пользователей. Открытый доступ предполагает, что пользователям разрешается читать, скачивать, копировать, распространять, печатать, искать или находить полные тексты статей журнала по ссылке без предварительного разрешения от издателя и автора.

Данная политика основана на принципах открытого доступа, рекомендуемых DOAJ.

Издание проводит политику обеспечения максимальной доступности опубликованных материалов для ученых-исследователей. Все статьи архивных и текущих выпусков журнала размещены в режиме открытого доступа на сайте издания, а также на платформах российских и зарубежных электронных библиотек и информационных баз в сети Интернет.

Использование материалов журнала в коммерческих целях не допускается.

Условия опубликования

Плата с авторов за редактирование и публикацию не взимается. Авторские гонорары не выплачиваются.

Политика проверки оригинальности рукописей

Все статьи, публикуемые в журнале, проходят проверку на уникальность материала и объем заимствований в автоматизированной системе проверки Антиплагиат.

Политика раскрытия и конфликты интересов

Неопубликованные данные, полученные из представленных к рассмотрению рукописей, не используются в личных исследованиях без письменного согласия автора. Информация или идеи, полученные в ходе рецензирования и связанные с возможными преимуществами, сохраняются конфиденциальными и не используются с целью получения личной выгоды.

Рецензенты не участвуют в рассмотрении рукописей в случае наличия конфликтов интересов вследствие конкурентных, совместных и других взаимодействий и отношений с любым из авторов, компаниями или другими организациями, связанными с представленной работой.

Приватность

Имена и адреса электронной почты, введенные на сайте этого журнала, будут использованы исключительно для целей, обозначенных этим журналом, и не будут использованы для каких-либо других целей или предоставлены другим лицам и организациям.

Авторские права

Авторы, публикующие в данном журнале, соглашаются со следующим:

1. Авторы сохраняют авторские права на работу и предоставляют журналу право первой публикации работы на условиях лицензии Creative Commons Attribution License CC-BY 4.0., которая позволяет другим распространять данную работу с обязательным сохранением ссылок на авторов оригинальной работы и оригинальную публикацию в этом журнале.

2. Авторы сохраняют право заключать отдельные контрактные договорённости, касающиеся неэксклюзивного распространения версии работы в опубликованном здесь виде (например, размещение ее в институтском хранилище, публикацию в книге), со ссылкой на ее оригинальную публикацию в этом журнале.

3. Авторы имеют право размещать их работу в сети Интернет (например в институтском хранилище или персональном сайте) до и во время процесса рассмотрения ее данным журналом, так как это может привести к продуктивному обсуждению и большему количеству ссылок на данную работу.