Territoriality and flock formation as possible mechanisms for maintaining species stability: Commentary on V.G. Gorshkov, A.M. Makarieva (2020) “Key ecological parameters of immobile and locomotive life”

Gavrilov V.M.

RJEE Vol. 5 (3). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-3-5
Abstract | PDF (Eng) | Additional files

Receipt date 06.01.20 | Publication date 26.09.2020

 

V. M. Gavrilov

Lomonosov Moscow State University, 1 Leninskiye Gory, Moscow, 119991, Russia
E-mail: vmgavrilov@mail.ru

 

Abstract. In the work of Gorshkov and Makarieva [1] an idea was put forward that the formation of a continuous cover by immobile organisms (the so-called “lack of space abundance”) allows the species to effectively expel non-competitive individuals from the population thus maintaining genetic stability. An analogue of such “lack of space abundance” (continuous cover) is the territoriality in birds, when all areas suitable for reproduction are occupied and defended against intrusions of competitors. In the regime of territoriality, competition during the period of reproduction occurs only between close neighbors that are normally not numerous. This appears to be insufficient for the maintenance of species stability in birds, as during migration and overwintering birds assemble into big flocks where population densities and the intensity of competitive interaction become higher. Immobile organisms, on the other hand, are able to compete with their immediate neighbors only. This leads to the conclusion that, for such local competitive interaction to be effective, the frequency of appearance of non-competitive individuals in immobile organisms should be significantly lower than in locomotive organisms (birds).

 

Keywords: ecological stability, competition, population structure, avian energetics, basal metabolism.

 

For citation: Gavrilov V.M. Territoriality and flock formation as possible mechanisms for maintaining species stability: commentary on V. G. Gorshkov, A. M. Makarieva (2020) “Key ecological parameters of immobile and locomotive life”. Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. 2020;5(3). Available from: https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-3-5

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. THE ONLINE EDITION IS REGISTERED IN THE FEDERAL SERVICE FOR SUPERVISION OF COMMUNICATIONS, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, AND MASS MEDIA. REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE № FS 77 – 62950 from 04.09.2015.

Territoriality and flock formation as possible mechanisms for maintaining species stability: Commentary on V.G. Gorshkov, A.M. Makarieva (2020) “Key ecological parameters of immobile and locomotive life”

Gavrilov V.

RJEE Vol. 5 (3). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-3-5
Аннотация | PDF (Eng) | Дополнительные файлы

Дата поступления 06.01.20 | Дата опубликования 26.09.2020

 

УДК 574.4*574.5

 

В. М. Гаврилов

Московский государственный университет им. М. В. Ломоносова, Россия, 119991, г. Москва, Ленинские Горы, 1
E-mail: vmgavrilov@mail.ru

 

Аннотация. В работе Горшкова и Макарьевой [1] высказана идея о том, что образование сплошного покрова неподвижными организмами (так называемое «отсутствие изобилия пространства») позволяет виду эффективно выбраковывать неконкурентоспособных особей, поддерживая генетическую устойчивость. Аналогом «отсутствия изобилия пространства» у птиц является территориальность, когда все пригодные для размножения особей территории заняты и охраняются от вторжения конкурентов. При этом конкуренция во время периода размножения происходит только с ближайшими немногочисленными соседями. По-видимому, этого недостаточно для поддержания видовой устойчивости у птиц, поэтому во время миграций и зимовки птицы объединяются в большие стаи, в которых плотности численности особей и интенсивность конкурентного взаимодействия возрастает. Неподвижные же организмы могут конкурировать только с ближайшими соседями. Это позволяет предположить, что частота появления неконкурентоспособных особей у неподвижных организмов должна быть существенно ниже, чем у передвигающихся (птиц), чтобы локальный отбор был эффективным.

 

Ключевые слова: экологическая устойчивость, конкуренция, структура популяции, энергетика птиц, базальный метаболизм.

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. Электронное издание зарегистрировано в Федеральной службе по надзору в сфере связи, информационных технологий и массовых коммуникаций. Свидетельство о регистрации Эл № ФС 77 - 62950 от 04 сентября 2015 г.