The bank vole and species diversity of ground vegetation in broad-leaved forests

Evstigneev O.I., Solonina O.V.

RJEE Vol. 5 (4). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-1
Abstract | PDF (Rus) | Additional files

Receipt date 15.09.20 | Publication date 26.12.2020

 

O. I. Evstigneev1, O. V. Solonina1, 2

 

1 State Nature Reserve “Bryanskii Les”, Nerussa Station, Bryansk Oblast, 242180, Russia E-mail: quercus_eo@mail.ru

 

2 Center for Forest Ecology and Productivity of the Russian Academy of Sciences, 84/32 Profsojuznaya street, Moscow, 117485, Russia E-mail: caniformia@mail.ru

 

Abstract. The role of the European bank vole (Myodes glareolus) in maintaining the species diversity of the ground vegetation in broad-leaved forests was analysed. The study was carried out in Nerusso-Desna Woodland in the southeast of the Bryansk region (Russia). Geobotanical research methods were used. The vole’s burrowing and foraging activities create ecotopic heterogeneity and a mosaic of ground vegetation, which increases habitat capacity. As a result, the species density and species richness of communities increase. The mosaic created by the animals is represented by three variants of plant microcommunities: 1) with a predominance of vegetatively immobile annual and biennial plants of the ruderal group (Alliaria petiolata, Cardamine impatiens, Geranium robertianum, Lapsana communis, Moehringia trinervia, Polygonum convolvulus, Torilis japonica) in places with severe soil disturbance; 2) with a predominance of vegetatively mobile perennials of the ruderal group (Elymus caninus, Glechoma hederacea, Lamium maculatum, Stachys sylvatica, Stellaria holostea, Urtica dioica, etc.), and with the significant participation of phytocenotically tolerant plants (Asarum europaeum, Brachypodium sylvaticum, Geum urbanum, Poa nemoralis, Polygonatum multiflorum, Pulmonaria obscura, Viola mirabilis, etc.) in the foraging area represented by “pastures”; 3) with a predominance of vegetatively mobile perennials of the competitive group (Aegopodium podagraria, Mercurialis perennis) on the peripheral part of the “pastures”. This sequence of microcommunities, which can replace each other in time, is a microsuccession. Microsuccession begins when there is a sharp decline in the number of animals. Competitive herb species are the driving force behind the development of microcommunities. They gradually replace ruderal and tolerant plants and can become dominant in the ground vegetation for long periods. However, regular increases in vole abundance periodically interrupt these unidirectional microsuccessions. In this case, both elongated and shortened developmental cycles of microcommunities can be formed. Elongated cycles develop if voles eat competitive plants over a large area and reduce the density of the ground vegetation cover to a minimum. Shortened cycles develop if animals, in their search for food, return to their former foraging territory after 2 or 3 years, when vegetatively mobile perennials of the ruderal group dominate. In this case, the stage dominated by competitive plants does not occur. Thus, the constant burrowing and trophic activity of bank voles transforms the unidirectional development of ground vegetation microcommunities into cycles. Thanks to cyclic microsuccessions, a multi-species and polydominant composition is maintained in the ground vegetation. The mechanism for maintaining this diversity involves the spatial redistribution of vegetation patches with the dominance of plant species with different types of strategy – ruderal, tolerant and competitive.

 

Keywords: The European bank vole, Myodes glareolus, species diversity of communities, environmental transformation, mosaic of ground vegetation cover, microcommunities, microsuccession, broad-leaved forest.

 

For citation: Evstigneev O.I., Solonina O.V. The bank vole and species diversity of ground vegetation in broad-leaved forests. Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. 2020;5(4). (In Russ.). Available from: https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-1

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. THE ONLINE EDITION IS REGISTERED IN THE FEDERAL SERVICE FOR SUPERVISION OF COMMUNICATIONS, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, AND MASS MEDIA. REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE № FS 77 – 62950 from 04.09.2015.

Рыжая полевка и видовое разнообразие травяного покрова в широколиственных лесах

Евстигнеев О.И., Солонина О.В.

RJEE Vol. 5 (4). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-1
Аннотация | PDF (Rus) | Дополнительные файлы

Дата поступления 15.09.20 | Дата опубликования 26.12.2020

 

УДК 574.472:581.524.33

 

О. И. Евстигнеев1, О. В. Солонина1, 2

 

1 Государственный природный биосферный заповедник «Брянский лес», Россия, 242180, Брянская область, станция Нерусса Email: quercus_eo@mail.ru

 

2 Центр по проблемам экологии и продуктивности лесов РАН, Россия, 117485, г. Москва, ул. Профсоюзная, 84/32 E-mail: caniformia@mail.ru

 

Аннотация. Проанализирована роль рыжей полевки (Myodes glareolus) в поддержании видового разнообразия травяного покрова в широколиственных лесах. Исследования были проведены в Неруссо-Деснянском полесье на юго-востоке Брянской области (Россия). Применяли геоботанические методы исследования. Показано, что роющая и трофическая деятельность полевок создает экотопическую неоднородность и мозаику травяного покрова. Все это повышает емкость местообитания. В результате возрастают видовая насыщенность и видовое богатство сообщества. Мозаика, созданная зверьками, представлена тремя вариантами микрогруппировок растений: 1) с преобладанием вегетативно неподвижных однолетников и малолетников реактивной группы (Alliaria petiolata, Cardamine impatiens, Geranium robertianum, Lapsana communis, Moehringia trinervia, Polygonum convolvulus, Torilis japonica) на месте сильных нарушений почвенного покрова; 2) с доминированием вегетативно подвижных многолетников реактивной группы (Elymus caninus, Glechoma hederacea, Lamium maculatum, Stachys sylvatica, Stellaria holostea, Urtica dioica и др.) и со значительным участием фитоценотически толерантных растений (Asarum europaeum, Brachypodium sylvaticum, Geum urbanum, Poa nemoralis, Polygonatum multiflorum, Pulmonaria obscura, Viola mirabilis и др.) на кормовой территории, представленной «пастбищами»; 3) с господством вегетативно подвижных многолетников конкурентной группы (Aegopodium podagraria, Mercurialis perennis) на периферической части «пастбищ». Эту последовательность микрогруппировок, которые могут сменять друг друга во времени, называют микросукцессией. Она запускается во время резкого снижения численности зверьков. С этого момента движущей силой развития группировок выступают конкурентные виды трав. Они постепенно вытесняют реактивные и толерантные растения и могут стать доминантами травяного покрова на долгое время. Однако очередные подъемы численности полевок периодически прерывают эти однонаправленные микросукцессии. При этом могут сформироваться как удлиненные, так и укороченные циклы развития микрогруппировок. Удлиненные циклы образуются, если полевки выедают заросли конкурентных растений на значительной площади и снижают сомкнутость травяного покрова до минимума. Укороченные циклы формируются, если животные в поисках пищи возвращаются на прежнюю кормовую территорию через два-три года, когда доминируют вегетативно подвижные травы реактивной группы. При этом выпадает стадия с доминированием конкурентных растений. Таким образом, постоянная роющая и трофическая деятельность рыжих полевок преобразует однонаправленное развитие микрогруппировок травяного покрова в циклы. Благодаря циклическим микросукцессиям поддерживается многовидовой и полидоминантный состав в синузии широкотравья. Механизм поддержания этого разнообразия осуществляется за счет пространственного перераспределения пятен травяного покрова с доминированием видов растений разных типов стратегии – реактивных, толерантных и конкурентных.

 

Ключевые слова: рыжая полевка, Myodes glareolus, видовое разнообразие сообществ, средопреобразование, мозаичность травяного покрова, микрогруппировка, микросукцессия, широколиственный лес.

 

Благодарности. Авторы признательны В. Н. Короткову, А. В. Горнову и Е. Ф. Ситниковой за просмотр рукописи и критические замечания. Особая благодарность фотохудожнику-анималисту Николаю Воробью за разрешение использовать в статье превосходные фотографии рыжих полевок. Исследование аспирантки О. В. Солониной поддержано Российским фондом фундаментальных исследований (проект № 19–34–90032), а также выполнено в рамках темы ГЗ ЦЭПЛ РАН «Методические подходы к оценке структурной организации и функционирования лесных экосистем». Номер государственной регистрации АААА-А18-118052400130-7.

 

Для цитирования: Евстигнеев, О. И. Рыжая полевка и видовое разнообразие травяного покрова в широколиственных лесах / О. И. Евстигнеев, О. В. Солонина // Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. – 2020. – Vol. 5 (4). – https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-1

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. Электронное издание зарегистрировано в Федеральной службе по надзору в сфере связи, информационных технологий и массовых коммуникаций. Свидетельство о регистрации Эл № ФС 77 - 62950 от 04 сентября 2015 г.