Indirect influence of bear predation on the performance of the steller’s sea eagle population

Romanov М.S., Masterov V.B.

RJEE Vol. 5 (4). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-2
Abstract | PDF (Rus) | Additional files

Receipt date 31.08.20 | Publication date 26.12.2020

 

М. S. Romanov1, V. B. Masterov2

 

1 Institute of Mathematical Problems of Biology, Keldysh Institute of Applied Mathematics, Russian Academy of Sciences, 1 prof. Vitkevicha str., Pushchino, 1142290, Russia
E-mail: romanov.eagle@gmail.com

 

2 Lomonosov Moscow State University, 1 Leninskie Gory str., Moscow, 119234, Russia
E-mail: haliaeetus@yandex.ru

 

Abstract. Background. Earlier it was reported that the Sakhalin population of Steller’s Sea Eagles in recent years has been suffering from predation by Brown Bears which take 19 % of the offspring produced. However, we found that in addition to the direct damage to the population, bear predation also has an indirect, delayed effect. Materials and methods. The study contains an analysis of the further fate of the nesting territories due to predation. We estimated the reproduction efficiency of the eagles on nesting territories suffering predation (n = 114) or affected by nestling mortality (n = 38), and compared it with the performance of territories after nesting success (n = 472). For a more detailed analysis, we decomposed breeding performance into four components: the territory occupancy, the proportion of breeding pairs, breeding success, and brood size. Results. On territories with nestling mortality, the decline in productivity was mainly due to lower breeding success and smaller brood size, which can be associated with the poor quality of the territories. Following bear predation, the decline in performance was due to the decrease in the territory occupancy (from 89 to 72 %), the proportion of breeding pairs (from 62 to 51 %), and the breeding success (from 78 to 57 %). Ultimately, on the year following either nest failure due to bear predation or nestling mortality, territories produced half the number of offspring (respectively 0.32 and 0.26 fledglings per territory) compared to previous success (0.60 fledglings per territory). Conclusions. Therefore, the indirect damage from predation, operating through negative breeding experience of the eagles and destruction of their nests, can significantly exceed the direct effect. The presence of indirect, including delayed, damage should always be taken into account when assessing the state and stability of populations exposed to negative impacts.

 

Keywords: Steller’s Sea Eagle, Haliaeetus pelagicus, Sakhalin Island, Brown Bear, Ursus arctos, predation pressure.

 

For citation: Romanov М.S., Masterov V.B. Indirect influence of bear predation on the performance of the steller’s sea eagle population. Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. 2020;5(4). Available from: https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-2

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. THE ONLINE EDITION IS REGISTERED IN THE FEDERAL SERVICE FOR SUPERVISION OF COMMUNICATIONS, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, AND MASS MEDIA. REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE № FS 77 – 62950 from 04.09.2015.

Непрямое воздействие хищничества бурых медведей на воспроизводство популяции белоплечих орланов

Романов М.С., Мастеров В.Б.

RJEE Vol. 5 (4). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-2
Аннотация | PDF (Rus) | Дополнительные файлы

Дата поступления 31.08.20 | Дата опубликования 26.12.2020

 

УДК 591.5 598.279.23 + 599.742.2

 

М. С. Романов1, В. Б. Мастеров2

 

1 Институт математических проблем биологии РАН – филиал Института прикладной математики им. М. В. Келдыша Российской академии наук, Россия, 142290, г. Пущино, ул. проф. Виткевича, 1
Email: romanov.eagle@gmail.com

 

2 Московский государственный университет им. М. В. Ломоносова, Россия, 119234, г. Москва, ул. Ленинские Горы, 1
Email: haliaeetus@yandex.ru

 

Аннотация. Актуальность и цели. Ранее сообщалось, что сахалинская популяция белоплечего орлана в последние годы страдает от хищничества бурых медведей, уничтожающих около 19 % производимого потомства (от 3 до 43 % в разные годы). Однако было обнаружено, что, помимо непосредственного ущерба, наносимого популяции орланов, хищничество оказывает ещё и косвенное, отложенное по времени воздействие. Материалы и методы. Исследование содержит анализ дальнейшей судьбы гнездовых территорий, подвергшихся хищничеству. Мы оценили эффективность размножения пар орланов на следующий год после разорения гнезда хищниками (n = 114), а также после потери птенцов по иным причинам («птенцовая смертность», n = 38), и сравнили ее с производительностью территорий, где гнездование было успешным (n = 472). Для этого производительность гнездовых территорий разложили на четыре компонента: занятость территорий, доля размножающихся пар, успех размножения и размер выводка. Результаты. На территориях, где была зарегистрирована птенцовая смертность, снижение производительности происходило в основном за счет низкого успеха размножения и меньшего размера выводка, что можно связать с низким качеством самих территорий. После хищничества медведей снижение производительности происходило за счет уменьшения занятости территорий (с 89 до 72 %), доли размножающихся пар (c 62 до 51 %), а также успеха размножения (с 78 до 57 %). В итоге на следующий год после неудачной (из-за хищничества или птенцовой смертности) попытки гнездования территории произвели вдвое меньше потомства (соответственно 0.32 и 0.26 птенца на территорию), чем после успешного размножения (0.60 птенцов на территорию). Выводы. Таким образом, косвенный ущерб от хищничества, проявляющийся через негативный опыт гнездования и разрушение гнезд орланов, может значительно превышать прямой. Наличие непрямого, в т.ч. отложенного по времени, ущерба следует учитывать при оценке состояния и устойчивости популяций, подвергающихся негативным воздействиям.

 

Ключевые слова: белоплечий орлан, Haliaeetus pelagicus, Сахалин, бурый медведь, Ursus arctos, пресс хищничества.

 

Для цитирования: Романов, М. С. Непрямое воздействие хищничества бурых медведей на воспроизводство популяции белоплечих орланов / М. С. Романов, В. Б. Мастеров // Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. – 2020. – Vol. 5 (4). – https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-2

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. Электронное издание зарегистрировано в Федеральной службе по надзору в сфере связи, информационных технологий и массовых коммуникаций. Свидетельство о регистрации Эл № ФС 77 - 62950 от 04 сентября 2015 г.