Genetic features of the population structure of the russet ground squirrel (Spermophilus major Pall.) due to population dynamics over time

Titov S.V., Simakov M.D., Chernyshova O.V., Kartavov N.A., Kuzmin A.A.

RJEE Vol. 5 (4). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-3
Abstract | PDF (Rus) | Additional files

Receipt date 25.07.20 | Publication date 26.12.2020

 

S. V. Titov1, M. D. Simakov2, O. V. Chernyshova3, N. A. Kartavov4, A. A. Kuzmin5

 

Penza State University, 40 Krasnaya street, Penza, 440026, Russia
1 E-mail: svtitov@yandex.ru, 2 e-mail: maksimakov@bk.ru, 3 e-mail: oliarabbit@yandex.ru, 4 e-mail: nikitakartavov@yandex.ru

 

5 Penza State Technological University, 1A / 11 Baidukova proezd / Gagarina street, Penza, 440039, Russia
E-mail: kuzmin-puh@yandex.com

 

Abstract. Relevance and goals. Spatial subdivision and temporary isolation of populations, as a rule, lead to limited gene flow, a decrease in the level of heterozygosity, an increase in the level of inbreeding, and a loss of genetic diversity. In some cases, both their complete extinction and radical restructuring of their structure are possible due to the passage of populations of the “bottleneck” state or of the formation process from a limited number of early settlers. In the conditions of such a contradictory and undirected population dynamics in the area, structural population changes are constantly taking place. Under the conditions of sympatric habitation of closely related species at certain points of contact, situations arise in which sympatric species overcome isolation barriers and interspecific hybrids appear in random contacts of non-specifics [11, 12]. The goal of this work was the study in model settlements of the russet ground squirrel (Spermophilus major Pall) of the peculiarities of the dynamics of the genetic structure of populations in connection with deep isolation and wavelike changes in numbers against the background of the existing sympatry with the spotted souslik (S. suslicus Güld). Materials and methods. Analytical samples for genetic analysis were as follows: S. major population near the village of Chirikovo, 2005–2010, 43 individuals, and 2018–2019, 34 individuals; S. major population on the island of Paltsinsky (2011) – 10 individuals. The analysis of intrapopulation polymorphism and genetic differences of two model populations of the russet ground squirrel was carried out using the results of the analysis of two mtDNA markers variability – the control region (C-region, D-loop) and the Cyt b gene, in two directions: by the nature of DNA mitotypes distribution in them and by identifying haplotype variability of the analyzed samples for the used markers. Fragments of the mtDNA control region (n = 32) and the Cyt b gene (n = 44) were sequenced on an ABI 3500 sequencer (Applied Biosystems) using reagent kits BigDye® Terminatorv 3.1 Cycle Sequencing Kits during the initial sample preparation in the SimpliAmp ™ Thermal Cycler amplifier. Nucleotide sequences were studied using the BioEdit 7.0 Mega7.0.21 PopArt and DnaSP 5.10.01 programmes. The obtained sequences of the isolated mtDNA haplotypes (D-loop and Cyt b) were placed at GeneBank NCBI (MW398128-MW398138; MW398139-MW398148). All the results were verified by statistical tests (Microsoft Office Excel 2010, STATISTICA 10.0). Results. Analysis of the variability of the fragments of the control region D-loop and the Cyt b gene of mtDNA showed that the analyzed populations of the russet ground squirrel are well differentiated and differ from each other. The analysis of two temporal states of the population near the village of Chirikovo revealed significant differences between them, despite the fact that the search for these differences is complicated by a well-marked mitotypic structure. Testing sequences of two time samples of a russet ground squirrel population near the village of Chirikovo by the degree of their differentiation showed that the Tajima indices (T’s D) have positive values for both mtDNA markers. In this case, the indices have values indicating the effect of stabilizing selection after a rapid increase in numbers, which, according to observational data, took place after a strong depression and the passage of the population of the “bottleneck” state.  Conclusions. The conducted genetic studies of dynamically changing and reliably isolated populations of the russet ground squirrel showed that the use of mtDNA markers allows studying their genetic structure quite accurately and recreating the history of settlement formation. Such studies are especially relevant when studying the dynamics of contact areas of sympatric zones of hybridizing closely related species. As our studies have shown, it is in those points of the range where an explosive demographic situation associated with the passage of the populations of the “bottleneck” state and the restoration of numbers is observed, as well as the presence of a sympatric species occurs, that cases of interspecific hybridization of the russet ground squirrel with other representatives of the r. Spermophilus are recorded.

 

Key words: russet ground squirrel, genetic structure of the population, temporal dynamics, variability, mitochondrial markers, Volga region.

 

Acknowledgments. The research was carried out with financial support from the Russian Foundation for Basic Research within the project no. 18-04-00687 а.

 

For citation: Genetic features of the population structure of the russet ground squirrel (Spermophilus major Pall.) due to population dynamics over time / S. V. Titov, M. D. Simakov, O. V. Chernyshova, N. A. Kartavov, A. A. Kuzmin // Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. – 2020. – Vol. 5 (4). – https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-3

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. THE ONLINE EDITION IS REGISTERED IN THE FEDERAL SERVICE FOR SUPERVISION OF COMMUNICATIONS, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, AND MASS MEDIA. REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE № FS 77 – 62950 from 04.09.2015.

Генетические особенности популяционной структуры большого суслика (Spermophilus major Pall.) в связи динамикой населения во времени

Титов С.В., Симаков М.Д., Чернышова О.В., Картавов Н.А., Кузьмин А.А.

RJEE Vol. 5 (4). 2020 | DOI: 10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-3
Аннотация | PDF (Rus) | Дополнительные файлы

Дата поступления 25.07.20 | Дата опубликования 26.12.2020

 

УДК 599.322.2+575.174

 

С. В. Титов1, М. Д. Симаков2, О. В. Чернышова3, Н. А. Картавов4, А. А. Кузьмин5

 

Пензенский государственный университет, Россия, 440026, г. Пенза, ул. Красная, 40
1 E-mail: svtitov@yandex.ru, 2 e-mail: maksimakov@bk.ru, 3 e-mail: oliarabbit@yandex.ru, 4 e-mail: nikitakartavov@yandex.ru

 

5 Пензенский государственный технологический университет, Россия, 440039, г. Пенза, проезд Байдукова/ул. Гагарина, 1а/11
E-mail: kuzmin-puh@yandex.com

 

Аннотация. Актуальность и цели. Пространственная подразделенность и временная изоляция популяций, как правило, приводит к ограничению потока генов, снижению уровня гетерозиготности, повышению уровня инбридинга, к потере генетического разнообразия. В некоторых случаях возможны как полное их вымирание, так и коренная перестройка их структуры в связи с прохождением популяциями состояния «бутылочного горлышка» или процесса формирования от ограниченного числа первопоселенцев. В условиях столь противоречивой и ненаправленной динамики населения в ареале постоянно происходят структурные популяционные перестройки. В условиях симпатрического обитания близкородственных видов в тех или иных точках контактов возникают ситуации, при которых наблюдается преодоление симпатрическими видами изоляционных барьеров и появление межвидовых гибридов в случайных контактах неконспецификов [11, 12]. Целью работы было изучение в модельных поселениях большого суслика (Spermophilus major Pall.) особенностей динамики генетической структуры популяций в связи с глубокой изоляцией и волнообразными изменениями численности на фоне существующей симпатрии с крапчатым (S. suslicus Güld.) сусликом. Материалы и методы. Аналитические выборки для генетического анализа составили: популяция S. major близь с. Чириково 2005–2010 гг. – 43 экз. и 2018–2019 гг. – 34 экз.; популяция S. major на о. Пальцинский (2011 г.) – 10 экз. Анализ внутрипопуляционного полиморфизма и генетических различий двух модельных популяций большого суслика проводили, используя результаты анализа изменчивости двух маркеров мтДНК – контрольный регион (С-регион, Dloop) и гена Сyt b, по двум направлениям: по характеру распределения в них митотипов ДНК и по выявлению гаплотипической изменчивости анализируемых выборок по используемым маркерам. Секвенирование фрагментов контрольного региона мтДНК (n = 32) и гена Cyt b (n = 44) проводили на секвенаторе ABI 3500 (Applied Biosystems) с использованием набора реактивов BigDye® Terminatorv 3.1 Cycle Sequencing Kits при первоначальной подготовке проб в амплификаторе SimpliAmp™ Thermal Cycler. Нуклеотидные последовательности были изучены с помощью программ BioEdit 7.0 Mega7.0.21 PopArt и DnaSP 5.10.01. Полученные последовательности выделенных гаплотипов мтДНК (D-loop и Cyt b) были размещены в GeneBank NCBI (MW398128-MW398138; MW398139-MW398148). Все результаты были проверены статистическими тестами (Microsoft Office Excel 2010, STATISTICA 10.0). Результаты. Анализ изменчивости фрагментов контрольного региона Dloop и гена Cyt b мтДНК показал, что анализируемые популяции большого суслика хорошо дифференцированы и различаются друг с другом. Анализ двух временных состояний популяции у с. Чириково выявил достоверные отличия между ними – несмотря даже на то, что поиск этих различий осложняется хорошо выраженной митотипической структурой. Тестирование последовательностей двух временных выборок популяции большого суслика с. Чириково по степени их дифференциации показало, что индексы Таджимы (T’s D) имеют положительные значения по обоим маркерам мтДНК. При этом индексы имеют значения, указывающие на действие стабилизирующего отбора после быстрого роста численности, произошедшего по данным наблюдений после сильной депрессии и прохождения популяцией состояния «бутылочного горлышка». Выводы. Проведенные генетические исследования динамически меняющихся и надежно изолированных популяций большого суслика показали, что использование маркеров мтДНК позволяет достаточно точно изучить их генетическую структуру и успешно воссоздать историю формирования поселений. Особенно такие исследования актуальны при изучении динамики контактных участков зон симпатрии гибридизирующих близкородственных видов. Как показали наши исследования, именно в тех точках ареала, где наблюдается взрывная демографическая ситуация, связанная с прохождением популяциями состояния «бутылочного горлышка» и восстановлением численности, а также отмечается присутствие симпатрического вида, и фиксируются случаи межвидовой гибридизации большого суслика с другими представителями р. Spermophilus.

 

Ключевые слова: большой суслик, генетическая структура популяции, временная динамика, изменчивость, митохондриальные маркеры, Поволжье.

 

Благодарности. Исследование выполнено при финансовой поддержке РФФИ в рамках проекта №18-04-00687 а.

 

Для цитирования: Генетические особенности популяционной структуры большого суслика (Spermophilus major Pall.) в связи с динамикой населения во времени / С. В. Титов, М. Д. Симаков, О. В. Чернышова, Н. А. Картавов, А. А. Кузьмин // Russian Journal of Ecosystem Ecology. – 2020. – Vol. 5 (4). – https://doi.org/10.21685/2500-0578-2020-4-3

Яндекс.Метрика
Copyright © 2016 RJEE. Электронное издание зарегистрировано в Федеральной службе по надзору в сфере связи, информационных технологий и массовых коммуникаций. Свидетельство о регистрации Эл № ФС 77 - 62950 от 04 сентября 2015 г.